COLIN McENROE OFF-AIR BUT MAYBE NOT FOR LONG?

(I DO HAVE SOME NEW INFORMATION HERE! COLIN SAYS HE’S BEEN FIELDING CALLS FROM SEVERAL POTENTIAL NEW JOB OFFERS! LET’S HOPE HE IS NOT “OFF-THE-AIR” FOR MUCH LONGER.  THAT IS ALL HE WILL TELL ME BUT I PROMISE TO CALL HIM SEVERAL TIMES A DAY UNTIL HE TELLS ME THE DEAL OR FILES A RESTRAINING ORDER AGAINST ME. EITHER WAY, I PROMISE TO DELIVER!)

Say what you want about Colin McEnroe but many wouldn’t have been able to do what he did or has been doing this past week, carrying on as if nothing had happened, carrying on as if all was well when he knew it wasn’t!

RADIO SHOW CANCELLED

RADIO SHOW CANCELLED

Colin told me on the phone today that he knew his show had been cancelled since LAST TUESDAY, the day before Christmas Eve.  According to Colin, that’s when management told him his show was history and so was his 16 years as a radio talk show host at WTIC 1080!  Management told him the news right before Christmas and then told him to carry on and do the show. Something he has been doing since that dreaded Tuesday.

Say what you want about Colin, but many people wouldn’t have been able to carry on and continue doing their jobs even knowing their days were numbered. That is action of a true professional, taking a hit for the team despite being trampled on by a herd of elephants.

I often co-hosted with Colin and enjoyed my time behind the mic with him.  I will miss hearing his voice every day on the radio even if I didn’t always like what he had to say! Colin losing his job is a big loss for all of us. Another voice, silenced.

I don’t know what to say except that I feel as if I am being forced to cover the funerals of my friends.  We all know it could be worse and of course, Colin is not dead, but he is the latest casualty in what I feel is the death of the press. First Stan, then in a sense, us with our own parent company filing for chapter 11 bankruptcy. (However, I think we may be the lucky ones since we haven’t had any layoffs yet)  We can’t forget the Bristol Press and the New Britain Herald –two local newspapers also on life support.  Channel 8 has had to administer its own  last rights as well. The long time assistant News Director at WTNH, my former boss at Fox 61, Virginia Fisher was also shown the door.  Her position–gone, her 30 year career wiped out in seconds. Several other photographers were also given their pink slips as well as my friend and former reporter at Channel 8 Trisha Tasky.  All these “deaths” are making it hard to believe anymore during the holiday season–a time when we are all supposed to believe. Sometimes I wish I was a kid again–believing in Santa, the Tooth Fairy, believing that the good always prevailed and that the bad guys never won.  Believing was easy then, I guess, when we didn’t know any better.

Colin is a funny guy. Sometimes I hate him, sometimes I like him, sometimes he makes me laugh, sometimes he infuriates me, sometimes I can’t wait to listen to him on the radio, other days, I can’t wait to turn him off!  This roller coaster ride of emotions, like it or not, is what made us love him.

I’m not sure what WTIC is thinking.  I know times are tough! Or at least that is what management keeps telling us. But is it really that bad, for them?  I’ve seen how a lot of managers live and let me tell you, they don’t live in 11-hundred square feet cozy homes, like myself and many others like me  in this field.  WTIC has now eliminated its only African-American radio talk show host (Stan Simpson) its only FEMALE host, (Diane Smith) and now its only true liberal voice, Colin McEnroe.  What’s left?  I’ll let you fill in the blanks.

DIANE SMITH--ALSO HISTORY

DIANE SMITH--ALSO HISTORY

Diversity is key to understanding the issues. Stan may have a different take on something than myself and have the contacts and knowledge to open a door I may not have been able to open.  Diane, as a woman on the radio airwaves,  can also add dimension and another voice to an issue.  Then, of course there’s Colin–need I say no more!

THE FIRST TO FALL

THE FIRST TO FALL

I just wonder now, where will we all go? I guess towards the light.  Isn’t that what the main actor on the “Ghost Whisper” tells all those troubled souls–unable to move on from one life to the next–to go.

Go to the light. I just hope in this scenario, there is a light, out there, somewhere.

