REMEMBERING ERIKA

 MY COUSIN DEBBIE AND I HOLDING A PICTURE OF ERIKAThe last time I saw my second cousin Erika, I was seven months pregnant. We were at my baby shower–celebrating a new life that was about to be. I had no idea, at the time, that that would be the last time I saw Erika. Eight months later, Erika was killed in an accident involving a drunk driver. She was only 22 years old.

I look back at the pictures from my shower and see Erika in many of the photos. It was a happy day, yet, the pictures of her haunt me.  If only I had known then that that would be our last time together, I would have spent more time talking with her.  I had about fifty people at my shower and was busy making the rounds but I wish I had sat down and talked with her more. I wish I could go back in time and tell her just how much she meant to me and all of us.  I wish I could re-write the past and change the future. I wish I could have convinced her not to get into that car with the man who was drunk and behind the wheel.  I wish I could have protected her. I wish. I wish a lot of things when it comes to Erika.

THE HIGH COST OF DRIVING DRUNK

THE HIGH COST OF DRIVING DRUNK

This week on “”The Real Story”, it was  personal. We talked about Erika and the life she left behind and the life she still deserves to  have.  Her mother, my cousin Debbie Warren, is walking in memory of her only child this upcoming Saturday in the “Walk Like MADD” event in West Hartford. Debbie is a very brave woman who is making it her mission to prevent other mothers from living her pain. She is too young to have had to bury her only child but in her tremendous loss, she has found tremendous strength.

The Walk Like MADD event –sponsored by Mothers Against Drunk Driving–is  this Saturday May second, in West Hartford Center.  The walk starts at 10 A.M at Blue Back Square and will last until 2 P.M. I will be there with Sadie to show my support for my cousin Deb.  I just wish Erika could be here too.   See, there’s that “wishing” part again.

TO SEE DEBBIE ON THE REAL STORY CLICK HERE.

TO DONATE TO DEBBIE’S WALK CLICK HERE.

